New senators urged to start focusing on public service

New senators urged to start focusing on public service
By Azer Parrocha

MANILA (Philippines News Agency) — With all 12 senators-elect officially proclaimed nine days after the May 13 midterm polls, Malacañang on Wednesday urged the winners to buckle down to work and focus on public service.

“Now that the political dust has settled with the proclamation of the winners, it is the perfect time for nation-building and for those who triumphed to focus on public service,” said Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo in a statement.

Panelo also called on everyone “in all sides of the political spectrum” to stop what he described as “excessive politicking” that has only caused more divisions.

“We have been magnanimous in victory, thanking those who were defeated in the polls for fighting a good battle. We should all join hands in undertaking measures and projects for the betterment of our country and people,” he said.

Panelo congratulated the new senators, saying they have been “entrusted with the mandate of legislating new policies and programs”.

He expressed confidence that the new senators will do their best as legislators and enact laws which are both conscientious and beneficial the country and its people.

“We express confidence that these newly-proclaimed senators will be fealty to their oath, loyal to the Constitution, obedient to the laws of the land,” Panelo said.

“We remain confident that these new senators, as well as the other incumbent senators will join the President in his dedication of spurring inclusive and sustainable socioeconomic development, implementing the nation’s most ambitious infrastructure program, and creating a foundation for the establishment of a society that will provide lasting peace for the Filipino people as well as give them comfortable lives,” he added.

Panelo also hoped that the new senators would listen to the voice of those who elected them in office.

“After a grueling battle, it is hoped that the protagonists lay down their political swords, accept the will of the electorate and bow to the majesty of their sovereign voice, by giving their preferred choices a chance of leading the country towards progress,” Panelo said.

Panelo, meanwhile, described the recently-concluded election as a demonstration of the “vibrancy” of democracy in country.

The 12 newly-proclaimed senators are reelectionists Senators Cynthia Villar, Grace Poe, Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III, Nancy Binay, former Special Assistant to the President (SAP) Christopher “Bong” Go, former Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano, former Bureau of Corrections (BuCor) chief Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa, actor Lito Lapid, former Ilocos Norte Gov. Imee Marcos, former Presidential Political Adviser Francis Tolentino, and come-backing Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla. (PNA)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.