Filipino business leader appointed to Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council

Philippine Business Society of Alberta’s first president Celso Andrade was appointed to the nine-member Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council.

Andrade, president of Edmonton-based Sunfreight Cargo, has been an active leader and volunteer in the Filipino community for many years.

After leading the PBSA, he was succeeded by Bayani Alcantara. Andrade now serves as adviser.

In a press release received by the Pinoy Edmonton News (p.e.n.) Service, the Council will help the Government of Alberta in its approach to address racism.

Celso Andrade.(p.e.n. file photo)

News Release

Nine new members have been appointed to the Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council to help inform the Government of Alberta’s approach to addressing racism.

The new members will replace those whose terms have expired. Additionally, two members have been reappointed for a second term. These new and continuing members represent Alberta’s ethnic and religious diversity, and come from communities across the province.

“I look forward to continuing to work with the Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council to identify ways Alberta’s government can combat racism and inspire Albertans to celebrate our diversity. Thank you to the new members for volunteering to share their expertise, experience and time to help build a more inclusive Alberta.”Leela Sharon Aheer, Minister of Culture, Multiculturalism and Status of Women

“I am excited to carry on the Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council’s efforts in addressing racism and promoting more inclusive and accepting communities in Alberta. The council members bring many different perspectives to our work, helping us serve our communities and our fellow Albertans.”Mohamad Awada, co-chair, Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council

“This is an important moment in time for our province’s collective work to end racism. I am honoured to have the opportunity to work alongside the other council members and Minister Aheer to help shape Alberta’s approach to target hatred and celebrate multiculturalism.”China Ogbonna, co-chair, Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council

The council will continue to provide insight and advice on how to address racism, identify actions to combat racism and build a safer, more welcoming province for all Albertans. They will begin by reviewing the draft recommendations report recently submitted to the Government of Alberta in and will work with the government to develop an implementation plan.

Quick facts

  • The new members of the Alberta Anti-Racism Advisory Council include:
    • Mohamad Awada, co-chair
    • China Ogbonna, co-chair
    • Celso Andrade
    • Avodele (Stephen) Akindipe
    • Fariborz Birjandian
    • Kulshan Gill
    • Pauline Greenridge
    • Charles Odame-Ankrah
    • Abraham (Abe) Silverman

Related information

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.